Skip to main content
  • Home
  • News
  • WVU Tech STEM students honored for academic and community achievements

WVU Tech STEM students honored for academic and community achievements

STEM awards

The 19th Annual STEM Awards Banquet was held on Monday, April 18 in the Tech Center Ballroom. More than 140 students, staff, faculty and family members gathered to celebrate the achievements of 41 WVU Tech students.

Students were recognized for their academic work as well as their service to the college and community outside of the classroom.

“We’re pleased to acknowledge these promising students and we’re proud to say that we’ll one day send out into the STEM industries because they’re driven, well-trained and passionate about their fields,” said Dr. Zeljko “Z” Torbica, dean of the Leonard C. Nelson College of Engineering and Sciences at WVU Tech.

“They are doing great things here, and we know they’ll continue that trend and carry these accomplishments with them into their academic and professional careers,” he said.

New inductees and current members of the WVU Tech Chapter of the Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society were also recognized at the event

Check out photos on Flickr and be sure to congratulate this year’s STEM Awards recipients:

Janet Morst Cunningham – Biology Service Award
Destiny Morgan Deyton – Senior Academic Excellence Award
Seirra Marie Seay – First-Year Student Academic Excellence Award
Christina Frances Stover – First-Year Student Academic Excellence Award

Kendra J. Monnin – Outstanding Sophomore Award
Wesley A. Cunningham – Outstanding Junior Award
Logan M. Efaw – AIChE Leadership Award
Matthew Resendez – Outstanding Senior Award

Salem M. AlEidan – Outstanding Civil Engineering Sophomore Award
Adam J. Oldaker – Outstanding Civil Engineering Junior Award
James R. Ramsey – Outstanding Civil Engineering Senior Award
Dakota R. Smith – Outstanding Civil Engineering Freshman Award

Adam Cantrell – Outstanding Information Systems Student
Jackie Keiffer – Outstanding Computer Science Student 
Joshua Keiffer – Outstanding Computer Science Student
Gregory Hughes – Outstanding Computer Science Student
Joshua Massy – Outstanding Information Systems Student
Jeremy Ruth – Outstanding Computer Science Student
Mardigon Toler – Outstanding Computer Science Student
Cody Zackoski – Outstanding Information Systems and Computer Science Student

Shella “Gabi” Kelley – Outstanding Computer Engineering Senior Award
Brooklynn Meadows – Outstanding Electrical Engineering Senior Award
Daniel Noel – Outstanding Electrical Engineering Senior Award
Benjamin Petry – Outstanding Service Award
Felipe Sozinho – Outstanding Electrical Engineering Senior Award

Cameron M. McKimmie – Outstanding Academic Performance (Engineering Technology – Mechanical Emphasis)
Lionel L. Waters – Outstanding Academic Performance (Engineering Technology – Civil Emphasis)
Dustin Shumaker – Outstanding Academic Performance (Electronic Engineering Technology)

Takoda Grove – Outstanding Sophomore Award
Adam Teator – Outstanding Junior Award
Charles Westfall – Outstanding Junior Award
Juliet Zimmerman – Outstanding Sophomore Award

Yazid Amrani – Outstanding Contributions to the WVU Tech Chapter of American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Brett A. Floyd – Outstanding Contributions to the WVU Tech Phi Tau Sigma Honorary Society
Corey M. Hall – Outstanding Contributions to the WVU Tech SAE Baja Team
Andrew V. Lytton – Outstanding Academic Achievement Award
Courtney R. Shumate – Outstanding Contributions to the WVU Tech Student Partnership for the Advancement of Cosmic Exploration
Lyang Suan Wang – Outstanding Contributions to the WVU Tech SAE Aero Design Team

Kaylah Bovard – 2015-2016 Student Outreach and Service Award
Richard Aaron Murdock – 2015-2016 Student Outreach and Service Award