22 Jul

As released by the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission

The West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission (Commission) will host the West Virginia University Institute of Technology (WVU Tech) Revitalization Team next week on campus. The revitalization project, mandated by the West Virginia Legislature with the passage of Senate Bill (SB) 486 during the 2011 regular session, charged the Commission to initiate a study and draw upon the expertise of groups both internal and external to West Virginia to take advantage of the services of national organizations specializing in institutional renewal.

To conduct the study aimed at assisting the institution to reach its full potential as a center of excellence and a positive force for economic development and cultural enrichment in the state, the Commission assembled a team of regional and national experts as follows.

Dr. Constantine “Deno” Curris (Chair) – Former President of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) and Murray State University; former President and Professor of Public Policy at the University of Northern Iowa and Clemson University; and Dean of Student Personnel Programs at Marshall University;

Dr. Donald Carson – Former Vice President for Student Affairs at the University of Memphis; former Dean, Assistant to the President, and Director of University Relations at Marshall University; and Interim Athletic Director at the University of Memphis;

Mr. Bill Elswick, MBA – Vice President of Business Development for Casto Technical Services; former Executive Director for School Facilities for the West Virginia Department of Education; former Director of Operations, Maintenance, and Energy at Ohio University; and former Director of Facilities Management at Washington and Lee University;

Dr. Edwin C. Jones – University Professor Emeritus (Engineering) at Iowa State University; Adjunct Professor at the University of St. Thomas; former faculty member at the University of Illinois; and member of the Joint Advisory Board for Texas A&M – Qatar;

Dr. Alec Testa – Assistant Professor of Counseling and Director of Counseling Education at Southern Arkansas University; former Director of Assessment and Institutional Research at Western Governors University; and former Executive Director of Planning and Analysis at Eastern New Mexico University; and

Dr. Ben Tuchi – Higher education consultant, former Senior Vice Chancellor and Vice President for Business and Finance at the University of Pittsburgh, University of North Carolina, and the University of Arizona; and former faculty member at West Virginia University.

The team, which will be facilitated by Dr. Kevin Walthers, the Commission’s Vice Chancellor for Administration, will conduct an institutional site visit and hold forums to receive input from the campus community regarding the institution’s rich history and promising future. The public schedule is as follows.

Monday, July 25, 2011

o Opening Session/Welcome at 9:00 AM in the Leonard C. Nelson Engineering and Sciences Auditorium (ENGR Auditorium)

o Classified Staff Council at 10:00 AM in the ENGR Auditorium

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

o Community Forum at 9:00 AM in the ENGR Auditorium

o Faculty Forum at 11:00 AM in the ENGR Auditorium

o Alumni Board at 1:00 PM in the Tech Center Activities Room

o Industry Representatives at 2:00 PM in the Tech Center Activities Room

o Student Meeting at 3:00 PM in the Tech Center Activities Room

Members of the general public who would like to participate in the process, but are unable to attend the community forum on Tuesday, July 26, 2011 at 9:00 AM, are encouraged to submit comments to Dr. Walthers via e-mail at kwalthers@hepc.wvnet.edu. Written comments may also be submitted to Dr. Walthers’ attention at the following address: 1018 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Suite 700, Charleston, West Virginia, 25301.

At the conclusion of the site visit and the campus forums, the team will prepare a report for presentation to the Commission, the West Virginia University Board of Governors, and the Legislative Oversight Commission on Education Accountability. The report will be released by September 1, 2011.

Recent Articles